Leaving my ex was one of the scariest, yet freeing experiences that I have ever had.

A song that reminds me of my last ex.
A song that reminds me of my last ex.

When I first met him, I was very naive and timid. I was frightened by my own shadow and had no idea how to stand up for myself. He knew that I wouldn’t fight back, and took advantage of my lack of defensive skills.

There are many songs that remind me of my ex, “Independence Day,” by Martina McBride, or “Goodbye Earl,” by the Dixie Chicks.

But I decided to go with this one instead.

After all of the fights and the lies
Guess you’re wanting to harm me
But that won’t work anymore
No more, uh uh, it’s over

‘Cause if it wasn’t for all of your torture
I wouldn’t know how to be this way now
And never back down
So I wanna say thank you

‘Cause it
Makes me that much stronger
Makes me work a little bit harder
Makes me that much wiser
So thanks for making me a fighter

Made me learn a little bit faster
Made my skin a little bit thicker
Makes me that much smarter
So thanks for making me a fighter

I would crank it while I drove, singing along with venom and determination, cause screw you Steve.

