I’ve recently been going through a bunch of old photographs, I think mostly due to the fact that in a few short months I will be turning 40. I didn’t think it would get to me at all, but life is kinda like diarrhea that way, isn’t it?

Always full of unexpected surprises.

I went through the same thing close to 20 years ago, searching through all of the decrepit, smelly photo albums, gently peeling my childhood off of the yellowed pages.

Many photos remain, permanently attached, because I didn’t want to ruin them. (They went overboard on the glue back then.)

One album still contains my first hair cut, and a yellow ribbon, in a plastic baggy. I couldn’t imagine tossing that out, even though it’s a bit creepy.

I am melancholy this time around. I feel a wistfulness wash over me now, when I see how young I once was.

How young everyone once was.

mer young pic II 001 (2)
This is me, pretty in pink. (And confused about what to do with that hair dryer.) #airdry

 

Cousin Suzie and Mer 001
My cousin and I. (Proof that I could cross my legs without needing to call 911 at one point in my life.)

 

I just threw this one in for shits and giggles.
I just threw this one in for shits and giggles.

 

My mom and I. And an unidentified baby doll. )
My mom and I. (And an unidentified baby doll. ) We’ll call her Margie.

 

My little brother and I, with my dad.
My little brother and I, with my dad. (I’ve always squinted in the sun like that.)

 

One of my dear old friends, myself and my brother at Put-in-Bay.
One of my dear old friends, myself and my brother at Put-in-Bay. (I was 18.)

We were not drunk. See? We had Coke cans.

There might be a couple of repeats that I have posted before, but I haven’t had a chance to scan all of the new ones yet because I am wicked lazy.

I’m sure I will end up sharing more as the months go by. I have always loved looking at people’s old photo’s, and also sharing my own. Kind of like show and tell back in Kindergarten, only without snack afterwards.

Which reminds me, I need more juice and animal crackers.

