I grew up in a city called Lakewood. It’s been close to 20 years now since I moved away, and frankly, I find myself longing to go back in time.

Thanks to Google maps, I was able to go down my old street this morning. The house is no longer white with black trim, and it has a ginormous tree in the front yard. I decided to do some more researching, and found out that my childhood home was built in 1903. It is now considered a century home.

We’ll start with Lakewood Park, where I spent so many of my summer days.

The view of downtown Cleveland and Lake Erie.
St. James church, where I was baptized.
Lakewood high school, back in the 1950’s. That’s Johnny Appleseed above the auditorium, where I graduated in 1992.
Downtown Lakewood, back when there were still streetcars running.
Huntington beach, which is actually in Bay Village, Ohio. We rarely went to Cleveland’s west side beach, Edgewater, because the water quality was so bad back then.
What the locals call “The Valley.”
The beloved Detroit Theater. They tore it down a few years ago, although some people tried to make it a historical site. It didn't work and is now a Walgreen's.
The beloved Detroit Theater. They tore it down a few years ago, although some people tried to make it a historical site. They failed.

 

These are just half of the pictures that I found during my search for Lakewood history.

No matter where I end up, Lakewood will always have a place in my heart.

