I heard this little ditty as a young girl on my record player, long before it became somewhat popular again after being featured on “Austin Powers.”

19840

My mom doesn’t think that Nancy Sinatra could sing or dance a lick, and I agree with her. It’s a trainwreck, really.

And here I thought I was tone deaf and a shitty Go-Go dancer.

Regardless of the level of lameness, the song itself isn’t too awful. There are boots and matches. A fire. A pissed off, scorned woman. In fact, I think one of these newer female artists out there nowadays could probably do a remake and have a huge hit with it.

If I knew of any. Katy Perry?

Why didn’t Madonna do it back in the day?

You keep lyin when you oughta be truthin, you son of a bitch!
You keep lyin when you oughta be truthin, you son of a bitch!

Much better.

These boots are made for walkin by Nancy Sinatra

You keep saying you’ve got something for me.
something you call love, but confess.
You’ve been messin’ where you shouldn’t have been a messin’
and now someone else is gettin’ all your best.
These boots are made for walking, and that’s just what they’ll do
one of these days these boots are gonna walk all over you.
You keep lying, when you oughta be truthin’
and you keep losin’ when you oughta not bet.
You keep samin’ when you oughta be changin’.
Now what’s right is right, but you ain’t been right yet.
These boots are made for walking, and that’s just what they’ll do
one of these days these boots are gonna walk all over you.
You keep playin’ where you shouldn’t be playin
and you keep thinkin’ that you´ll never get burnt.
Ha! I just found me a brand new box of matches yeah
and what he know you ain’t HAD time to learn.
Are you ready boots? Start walkin’!

http://www.lyricsondemand.com/onehitwonders/thesebootsaremadeforwalkinglyrics.html

