Operation mold-be-gone is in full swing.

et

The kid said that it looks like the film set for ET.

You really have to keep your sense of humor about these sorts of things.

I got enough nerve to peek behind the plastic barrier yesterday, but I didn’t have the lady balls to take a picture. Walls are ripped out and it’s just absolute chaos in there, man. They ran into a broken pipe in the wall of our neighbor, so things have hit a snag. They have to wait until everything is dry before they can spray chemicals and then finally seal it up. Plus, they still haven’t been able to remove the water tank to get behind it. Lots of funky stuff back there, I guess.

We still have access to the kitchen as you can see, they left a flap open for us at the kitchen doorway. I only go in there when absolutely necessary, because as a doomsday naysayer reminded me on FB, (friend of the family) black mold is bad.

Google it!

No, I don’t need to. The last time I checked, I wasn’t a complete moron. Thanks for the heads up, though.

We have an enormous air scrubber in there, loud as hell. I picture it sucking up black mold spores and then spitting back out clean, fresh air.

There are a couple of pluses to this whole disaster. No more of that awful pink and teal wallpaper in my powder room. (Hell, I’ve been calling it the half bath for 5 years now. Let me be fancy.) Also, we are supposed to be getting new carpet for the living room because the poop water leaked into part of it. We cut it out and replaced it with a piece of carpet remnant that we had in the garage.

carpet

Behold my two-tone carpet in all it’s glory.

The dogs have been a real pain, especially yesterday when Maya got out when the drywall guy knocked at the door. There we were, myself in my jammies and slippers, chasing her around the front yard. At least the dude was cool about it and then apologized profusely. I just asked him to always come in through the patio door from now on.

mayasorry

Okay, you’re forgiven.

