As promised, I took my daughter out last night to get her hair cut. It suits her well, I think. She wanted to look like Maggie on The Walking Dead.

Don’t even get me started about what happened to Beth. (If you don’t watch the show, please kindly disregard this part of the post.)

I also wanted to go to the store across the street to get a few things, so I dropped her off there. I am all about time management when I do things these days. Plus, she is almost 18 and I am trying to teach her how to do things without me. She told the lady what kind of style she wanted and I had her pay half. ($7)

I parked, went into the store, walked past the slew of Christmas stuff (our tree goes up this weekend) and very slowly shopped. I know this store like the back of my hand, so each move I made was calculated, as to not waste any of my energy.

I put my purchases on the conveyor as fast as I could, sometimes using two hands to lift an item and even helped bag everything. (I had worked there a few seasons back to make extra Christmas money.)

I grabbed myself a Peppermint Patty as a reward for kicking so much ass.

My cashier was a young man, probably around my daughter’s age. He saw me struggling and told me not to worry about helping him, but I shrugged.

“It’s good exercise.”

He just smiled at me and I had the thought to hook him up with my kid. Although, I’m sure he isn’t her type. We rarely agree on things like that. He’s too clean-cut for her tastes.

My daughter was coming in as I was going out and I didn’t even recognize her with her new do. She looks so grown up these days. She is her father nose up, but she has my mouth and chin.

I complimented her, cause she’s so pretty.

She said thanks and I could tell that she loved what the hairdresser had done. I won’t let anyone but my aunt cut mine and it has been ages.

We got to the car and she told me to go sit down, she would load the trunk. I didn’t argue and did what I was told.

I had forgotten to grab her a poster board for her 60’s class. They had to pick a song from the era and do a drawing of it. She chose Revolution by The Beatles. I am so proud.

She can draw, unlike me.

Wouldn’t this look great hanging in your abode?

Luckily, there is a dollar store across the street in the plaza where the Great Clips is, so we scooted over there and she ran in to grab one. There was Christmas music playing on the radio and I started to make up lyrics to entertain myself while I waited.

“In the meadow we can build a snowman and pretend that he is Alton Brown.”

(Again, if you don’t watch The Food Network, please ignore this part of the post.)

When she got back in the car, she caught me eating my Peppermint Patty and singing Rudolph.

“This was on in the store, they have 102.1 on too.” (24-7 Christmas music.)

“You missed it,” I said. ” I was making up my own lyrics.”

“Good,” she replied. “You know, that I missed it.”

She isn’t interested in that cashier, she doesn’t like blondes.

