I got my blood test results yesterday in the mail. There is good news and bad news.

Which one should I do first? Hang on, let me flip a coin.

Shit, I dropped it. Mulligan.

Okay, good news first. My diabetes is under control. My fasting blood sugar was 102, down from 166. My change in diet and the weight I have lost has not been in vain.

Now the bad news. My cholesterol is high. Really high, I guess.

This is what I get for basically living on fast food as a kid. I did love my cheeseburgers and fries.

You see, I don’t eat that kind of food anymore. Because of the IBS, my diet consists of the blandest foods in existence and that’s the way I like it. I don’t eat fatty foods or fried anything. I live on oatmeal and toast, I swear.

My mother is a RN, so she was able to explain the results to me. My doctor put a note on there to retake the blood tests in a month before I see her again, but at least it isn’t fasting this time.

“You’re just like the mama,” mom said.

“High cholesterol is hereditary?” I asked. (I like to play stupid sometimes.)

“Yep. Just like your dad, too.”

Sigh.

So perhaps it’s not only because of the deep-fried foods I partook in back in the day, but inevitable. At least I got some good news, anyways. No, I won’t have a chocolate milkshake to celebrate, I promise. I am actually proud of myself for being able to take back some control with my weight and blood sugar.

Do Cheerios really help lower your cholesterol? I plan to find out.

