I’ve had many jobs in my life. Job hopping was my specialty, especially when I was younger. I’m not proud of it. I was very immature before I had my daughter and I lacked responsibility. I can’t tell you how many times I skipped out during a shift because the job sucked or because I just didn’t wanna. All I wanted to do was have a good time and party on.

I’m a jack of all trades, but a master of none.

I took child/elder care in high school and my first job was as a teacher’s aide, which at the time fit my personality. I was patient then with the kiddies and loved them. (I also didn’t swear much.) I remember getting a shy little boy to talk to me and I was so excited. But they didn’t hire me back after the school year ended, so I set upon trying something different.

I was a hotel maid for a day, until I found a used condom. Done.

I worked in a bakery for two days. The lady who was training me was an asshole. Bye bye.

I worked in a kitchen at a retirement community for about 6 months, until the day I didn’t.

I worked at a deli and sliced my finger while cutting salami. No stitches, but a few more inches…..

I worked at Burger King for one shift, until I decided that Whoppers were not actually flame-broiled.

I was a cashier for two hours. I went home on my break. I couldn’t swipe the items fast enough and people were mean.

I could go on, but it would be easier to skip ahead to the job that I finally kept for 2 years up until I got pregnant at age 21, as a nanny for four kids. Two girls and two boys. Their ages ranged from 3-9. I loved them, I truly did. My ex made me quit when I found out I was having a baby. He wanted me to concentrate on him and our relationship, which should have been a warning sign.

The lady I worked for was pissed off and I can’t say that I blamed her for it. I lost contact and now I often wonder how they ended up. All adults now.

By the time I entered the work force again when my daughter was 5 and I was a single mother, my job hopping days were basically finished. Besides a short holiday job as a cashier and a few false starts, I was four things; a dietary aide, a cook, a maid and a quality control inspector. I kept these jobs for longer than a four-hour shift. My average length of stay was 3 years.

Now that I don’t work, I often think back and laugh a bit. I sure did know how to live spontaneously back then. If I didn’t feel comfortable with a situation, I got the hell out of there without another thought.

I suppose it was a good thing to have been able to chock my life full of those experiences early on. I think about what is next for me, if I will ever be well enough to have a part-time job. If I had a choice, I would be a cook again. That was my favorite and I miss it something awful.

