I woke up last night to use the bathroom and heard my daughter in her room, talking to one of her friends on the phone. It was maybe 3 am.

“But he said he asked about me on Sunday, so that must mean something, right?”

She works with a bunch of guys at a gourmet burger place. There are a few girls, but they need more boys on the grill than they do females at the registrar. She’s usually surrounded by at least 4 fellas.

Every time I turn around, she talking about one of them. I can’t get their names straight in my head. I know that she has crushes on them, yet they only seem interested in her as a friend.

“That’s because I don’t give them what they want,” she told me the other day.

“Yes, they wanted the same thing back when I was your age,” I answered. “Maybe I should buy you a chastity ring?”

“I won’t wear it.”

She clearly doesn’t always understand sarcasm when she hears it. You’re not born with the ability, you have to work at it.

I know that deep down she wants a boyfriend, but it never works out for her. I feel bad, but there is nothing that I can do. I am proud of her for holding her own out there, though. The sexual pressure must be even worse now than it was 20 years ago, what with the yoga pants and the twerking.

I made it to the age of 19. It was short, not sweet and just awful. I hate to even think about it. Some things are better to block from your memory. Alcohol helps with this.

virginityblog

In fact, I have many things to block from my memory. Looks like a tequila night for me.

I hate to even think about my daughter having sexual relations with someone, the thought makes my eyes twitch and gives me hives. But I know that it will happen someday. I can only hope that she continues to wait until it feels right and that she isn’t pressured into something like I was.

