Fibromyalgia was declared an actual disease back in October of 2015. Before that, it was considered just a syndrome. Calling it a disease somehow gives it more clout.

Living with fibromyalgia is not something that I would have chosen for myself, obviously. (I would have chosen something less shitty.) Even the strongest person will crack like an Easter egg under the continuous pressure that it causes. It’s like living with a gigantic albatross on your shoulder who whispers bitter nothings into your ear.

Let me break it down simply. It sucks major ass.

Since my fun little disease has amplified over the last few years, I have learned some tricks that can help provide some relief and offer a sense of control. Today, I would like to share them with you.

Heating Pads

I decided the other day that I was going to clean my kitchen floor. I got the broom out and swept, then put water in my steam-mop. It took me awhile, but finally my floor was free of dog hair, dirt and yet to be identified general grossness. I was so pleased with myself. I had accomplished something that most people take for granted, but is highly difficult for me.

Fast forward to the next morning. The right side of my middle back and rib cage were totally obliterated. Even sitting down to make a tinkle caused enough pain to take my breath away.

A heating pad is a must for times like this. I bought mine from the local drugstore, when it was on sale because I am poor.

Water

I can’t stress enough the importance of staying hydrated. My mouth is constantly dry probably due to all of the drugs that I take. It also helps to keep everything flowing smoothly. Constipation is no fun unless you enjoy grunting.

funny-pictures-auto-meafcomics-water-364709

If you don’t like the taste of straight up water, they make flavor packets that you can add to make it more exciting. Feel like some strawberry kiwi? Sure!

How about some peach mango? You got it! The world is your oyster.

Distraction

Keeping your mind occupied when you are in pain and feel like screaming obscenities at your loved ones is of the utmost importance. I watch shows, read, chat with friends, pet my dogs, mess around online, listen to music, cry, read blogs, write when I can and stare out of the window.

Yes, I do cry. But it’s okay, because crying lets the sad out.

A Good Support System

I’m luckier than most people in this department. My family does their best to understand how difficult it is living with this frustrating disease. I try not to talk about it too much, though. No one likes a Debbie Downer. I need to work on not complaining to my mom, she has enough of her own problems.

I get much more empathy with fibro than I do with depression. That topic is a no-no, especially with my husband. It actually pisses me off, but that’s a post for another time. (If you’re sensing some animosity, you would be correct.)

forgiveyou

I also have a couple of close friends that I can bitch and moan to every day. I cling to them like a tomato on a vine. Without them, I would be lost.

I would be ketchup and then you could put me on your hot dog.

And of course this blog and all of you who take the time to read and comment is an integral part of my support system. Thank you.

A Sense of Humor

This is the most important fibromyalgia trick of all.

017628f80becc98949baf16d52fdf8e5

I actually get scared shitless when I can’t laugh. Nothing makes me feel better than cracking up at something. (Except pain pills, which I am not allowed to have no more.)

If I ever make you laugh, please tell me. Because it makes my day.

