My husband applied for a job at a crematorium. I was both horrified and impressed with him at the same time.

“That wouldn’t bother you?” I asked calmly while inwardly I shuddered.

“No. I could do it. Plus, the pay is decent and I could freak people out when I tell them what I do for a living. Pretty hardcore.”

I myself want to be cremated when I die. I decided this a long time ago. I want my ashes spread at Lakewood Park, a place that I spent much of my childhood, right next to Lake Erie. They had the best swing-set and the tallest slide that offered a great view from the top.

cremation

I know that I wouldn’t be able to handle a career in cremation, especially mentally. Well shit, physically too. It would make me too sad.

As usual, when a topic interests me, I do some research.

“Cremation is the combustion, vaporization and oxidation of dead bodies to basic chemical compounds, such as gases, ashes and mineral fragments retaining the appearance of dry bone.” Wikipedia

It takes about 3 to 4 hours from beginning to end, so you could probably get two bodies done in a days work. I imagine lunchtime would be a much needed break from the intense heat. (It gets hot in there, people.)

We’re waiting to see if the place calls my husband back for an interview. If nothing else, the position offers job security.

Do you think that you’d be able to work at a crematorium? I’m dying to know.

