One of the worst parts about having fibromyalgia besides the pain and fatigue is that you can’t do much socializing. I can’t tell you how many times I have been invited to go somewhere, but can’t due to the fact that I can’t keep up with the other people involved.

5f965a7b8d53c046500f830b084ec8bb_600x400
Just go on without me, I’m fine!
For example, my friend Cheryl is going to the Cleveland Indians home opener today. I’m not a huge sports fan, but a group of ladies hanging out downtown (even on a freezing cold day) would be something that I would like to be able to do. But this outing is not an option for me. Too much walking, climbing…did I mention walking?

The zoo? No can do. I have to love my sea lions from afar.

Is something planned for after 6:00 pm? Chances are slim to none that I will make it.

I try so hard not to be upset about it, but it isn’t an easy thing to deal with.

Isolation is a huge part of living with a chronic illness. Not just fibromyalgia, either. Depression, Anxiety, Lupus, ME, Bipolar, Crohn’s and Heart Disease, just to name a few.

isolation
I think I’m sitting on a pebble.
We hate having to say no. We want to participate, but our limitations stop us in our tracks.

I am able to do little things, like going out to eat, seeing a movie or just hanging out for a bit with someone. But many outings (that are a piece of cake to a healthy person) are monumental epic tasks for someone like me.

And it stinks like my brothers farts.

farts

You see, walking for me was never a problem before the Fibro-Kraken was released from it’s somewhat dormancy. I am always tired. Always. And I am still learning to adapt to it and accept it.

And I am also working on being truly happy for others who still can do these fun things.

“Have fun!”

“Enjoy yourself!”

“Sorry that I can’t make it.”

Words I live by now.

