*The following partly inspired by this post*

When you’re a kid, you are constantly trying to figure out what’s what in the world.

Like, why do your parents get mad at you when you don’t eat your veggies? What’s the major malfunction? Cauliflower is disgusting and can’t possibly be good for you!

Why can’t we eat out of a bowl on the floor like the dog does? It always looked like harmless fun to me.

ts-200455394-001_boy-watching-dog-eat_s4x3-jpg-rend-hgtvcom-1280-960
Save me some of that liver flavored kibble, Spike.
And then there was so much confusion about our surroundings. I remember asking my dad tons of questions and bless him, he always had a rather decent response at the ready.

“Why does Danny (my baby brother) cry so much?”

“Because that’s what babies do.”

“Oh.”

I think I get my brevity from my father.

brevity
I’m William Shakespeare and I approve this message. 
I watched a lot of black and white movies and TV shows growing up. All of the old picture albums showed family members in black and white. By the time I was born in 1974, the world was in color, so when did that happen?

I told my parents about what I assumed to be correct, that the world had been colorless until just very recently.

The last time my mom or I have discussed this childhood story, she told me that they were half speechless and half impressed that my child-brain had come to this conclusion, with evidence to back me up.

To a young child’s mind, it all made perfect sense. The olden days of yore was an sad place. No rainbows or red flowers. Goodbye orange Kool-Aid and to the green grass in my backyard.

full_12633
Shut the hell up Kool-Aid man. 
They assured me that the world had always been in glorious color. The old pictures and whatnot had been captured during a time when technology sucked ass.

It’s silly, isn’t it though? It makes me laugh now at myself, but I am also sort of impressed with my young sleuthing.

So tell me, am I the only kid out there who has ever thought about things like this themselves?

If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to watch something on Netflix that’s in black and white, just for shits and giggles.

