b911598cd801ab54b09996f17e271503
Ariel must have gotten a whiff of the used shoe department.
I went to a thrift store yesterday with my friend Cheryl because I wanted to find a purse that was roomier than my beloved Coach, the one that I’ve been using the last few years. I gave up the search for the one that I wrote about a short time ago, the $5 Franco Sarto. (I did try to locate the link, but couldn’t find it. I am sorry to have failed you all.)

I’m marking it down as a massive brain fart because for the life of me I cannot remember what happened to it.

BF
What typo?
It didn’t take long before I found something that cried out “buy me!” I also lucked out, since all of the purses were half off yesterday, so I paid only $4.00 and I had found exactly what I had been looking for.

The cheaper I can get something, the happier I am. This particular purse doesn’t even have a brand name. But it’s broken in perfectly, soft, velvety brown leather with plenty of hidden nooks and crannies for all of my crap.

12987927_10154276103792259_266119085_n
My find of the year.
I felt like the luckiest girl in the whole USA as we continued on our way past the purse department and over to the toy area, where we saw clear plastic bags packed full of unloved stuffed animals priced at around $3.o0.

If you have a pet, especially a dog, you know how expensive toys are. My idea was to buy a bag of used stuffies and give them to my pups to play with. (Being careful to make sure that they don’t accidentally swallow a button eye or nose.)

The third bag that I picked up had this little guy inside.

12968776_10154276009392259_353006341_n
He’s technically a hamster, but looks like a walrus.
I was keeping this cutie for myself!

As my daughter and I rummaged through the bag, we found that most of the stuffed animals were too adorable to give as chew toys. I gave three to my daughter, two of them I plan on giving as gifts and even my husband took one that he found to be the perfect match for him. (A Titanic rescue bear, a collectible that’s worth $15 on Ebay, believe it or not.)

Only two of them made the cut as expendable enough to be slobbered on by canines, a doomed monkey and an elephant. My dog Maya has been carrying around and sleeping with the monkey like it’s her baby.

maya and stuffie

So, mission accomplished. I have a household of happy stuffed animal owners and the best part, it was cheaper than a pack of cigarettes.

I can’t think of a name for my hamster/walrus. Any suggestions?

