how-stop-talking-to-yourself-subliminal-messages-work-300x196

Back in 1982, I had a conversation with my future life.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

“A ballerina or maybe a teacher!”

“Well, how about a dishwasher? Or a cook at a daycare?”

“I guess so…”

“You could also be a maid or assemble medical supplies.”

“Would I have to clean a toilet or see any blood?”

“Yes on the toilet. No on the blood.”

“Okay, good. I mean, not really because toilets are gross.”

“They are, but sometimes you’ll get a decent tip.”

“Maybe I could be an animal doctor!”

“Not with those grades you won’t…”

And now the conversation continues many years later.

“Did you ever become a ballerina or an animal doctor?”

“Nope. But I did take your advice and cleaned some toilets. It’s not as bad as I thought it would be.”

“Awesome. So, what are you doing now?”

“Well, things haven’t worked out the way that I thought they would. I’m just sort of floating along the river of life these days, taking naps and shit like that.”

“I see you learned how to swear.”

“Fuckin’ damned right.”

“Well, sorry that I didn’t see our health problems coming way back then. But it looks like we had a good run.”

“Not too shabby I suppose.”

“What’s next, though? What do you want to be when you grow up, 2.0?

“You’re looking at it, life. I’m just gonna be me.”

“You mean…be nothing?”

“Exactly. Just Mer, trying to be as happy as I can. That’s my job now.”

“It’ll take some getting used to…”

“I think we’ll get the knack of it eventually.”

