I dated an older man a few months after I left my ex. I was 28 and he was 42. There was a bit of a generation gap but it didn’t seem to be a big deal to either one of us. I remember being fascinated by his stories of going to Studio 54 where he claimed to have seen Micheal Jackson.

 

tumblr_ltbn7zwhrs1qi8tbno1_500
I have a feeling that someone in this photo is high as a kite.

 

I was just a wee tot when he was out partying with famous people. While I was watching Sesame Street and chilling with Grover, he was probably snorting lines of coke with the aforementioned celebrity.

I thought that he was so classy, always wearing dress pants and a crisp white shirt, sometimes even a tie. I was always in my preferred style of dress at the time, jeans and a T-shirt.

He was a businessman. I worked in the kitchen at a nursing home. He had money and a nice car. I did not. I peppered my sentences with cuss words and he would laugh at how adorable I was.

We were an odd pair. I have no idea what he saw in me.

He wanted to meet my mom within two weeks of dating. He bought my daughter toys and took us out to nice restaurants. He even spent the night once, sleeping on the living room floor with me. My first post-ex apartment was a one bedroom. I made sure that my daughter had the room to herself instead of sticking her on the couch that night.

He started talking about having us move in with him. My daughter would have her own room. I didn’t take it too seriously but I’ll admit that it did sound wonderful. My mom was skeptical of him when I told her and warned me to not fall for his act.

 

k5850810
Momma is skeptical.

 

Things were lovely for about a month until he started trying to get down my knickers.

I told him quite firmly that I was not ready for that. He seemed angry at first but quickly smiled and told me that it was no big deal. He would wait until I was comfortable.

Then one day out of the blue he told me that he loved me while we were chatting online because he was on a business trip.

No way, I typed back. We haven’t even known each other for two months yet. He swore that it was true but I wasn’t buying it.

I ended up hurting his feelings with my supposed rejection of his feelings. He sent me an email the next morning canceling our breakfast plans. He said that seeing me again would be too difficult after I snubbed him so coldly.

Thinking back on it now, I think that he was only trying the “I love you” as a last ditch effort to get me to do the horizontal mambo with him.

Or perhaps he was being sincere? I will never know the truth.

 

