A condition called costochondritis, which causes pain around the breast bone and rib cage, is believed to be common in people with fibromyalgia. It’s also called noncardiac chest pain or musculoskeletal chest pain.

Courtesy of http://www.verywell.com

There’s dickery afoot.

I had long wondered why it hurt so much when I pressed down on my sternum. Or why the sides of my ribcage were sometimes awash with shooting pain with every breath that I took.

No way. Not another messed up fibromyalgia symptom!

Yes, way.

chestpain-5661d2725f9b583386c76440
Well, this sucks the bologna pony.

(By the way, I really do talk like this in real life.)

I can no longer wear a regular bra. I buy sports bras one size too big. It’s all about comfort nowadays.

I was having a flare up of costochondritis on my left side a couple of weeks ago. I went to bend over to pick something up and I swear it felt like a vise grip was tightening around my ribcage.

“Son of a bitch,” I yelled loudly.

My husband is highly attuned to my suffering, so he came running to my rescue.

He helped me to stand up straight again and I was able to get to the couch, surrounding myself with many pillows.

There really isn’t much that I can do. I take shallow breaths. Laying on the opposite side sometimes helps.

And the Naproxen doctor gives you doesn’t do anything at all.

If you happen upon this post and also have pain in your rib cage and breast bone, just know that you’re not alone.

