I posted my feelings about the election results on Wednesday evening on Facebook. That’s what people do, right? I’m not in the streets of downtown Cleveland carrying protest signs but I still felt the need to offer my emotions to my carefully selected friends and family on the only social media site that I use.

After a few agreements from others, an older cousin of mine started getting nasty with a younger cousin of mine.

I wrote, please, I don’t want any arguments here.

Rather cut and dry, wouldn’t you agree?

My older cousin did not get the memo. She said this to me:

“It is going to be all right. We just need some distance away from the ugly campaign. Trump isn’t a monster, and none of our Presidents have been perfect. This is a good time for the young ones to learn that in a democracy we don’t always get what we want and that isn’t the end of the world. Come on, you are smart women. Pull up those big girl panties and give him a chance.”

My mouth literally dropped open.

She broke two of the rules that I do not tolerate from anyone, family or not.

Do not question my intelligence.

Do not talk down to me like I am a child.

I responded quickly.

“I don’t know what else to say. Honestly, I’m a bit insulted. I’m smart enough to know a pig when I see one. And my big girl panties are always on.”

biggirlpantiesxvii

My younger cousin and myself, probably at the same moment, unfriended her.

I don’t really know her. She is my Godmother but she moved away when I was very young. We reconnected on Facebook like so many people do with lost family members.

I told my mom what happened. She wasn’t pleased but respected my decision.

It saddens me but it had to be done. I DO NOT argue with people online. I will not engage anyone in that sort of behavior.

It’s like taking a whisk and mixing a huge bowl of hatred brownies.

I will not be a part of it. The only thing I can do is continue to be a kind and peaceful person.

