My mom and I both graduated in 1992. Her from college with a career as a nurse ahead of her and myself from high school with no fucking idea whatsoever.

 

grads
24 years ago! 

 

This blurry photo (sorry) was taken in the backyard of the house that I grew up in by my brother. We were on the way to my high school for the graduation ceremony, then off to a fancy restaurant afterward.

My mom would have her graduation a couple of weeks later. We had a duel grad party that day at my uncle’s house.

I’ve always thought that it was cool that my mother and I graduated the same year. Not too many kids can say that. My mom started attending the local community college a year after my father passed away in 1986. It took her 5 years but she made it, all the while doing her best to raise two hellish children by herself.

Yeah, my brother and I gave her a run for her money.

Sorry about being such a bitch back then, mom. Sincerely. I try to make up for it now by treating you like the sweetheart that you are.

My mom is my hero, plain and simple.

 

