Lake Erie was beautiful that day, the sun bouncing off of the waves, the water a deep, dark blue.

Never underestimate the ability of a lake to captivate, even though it isn’t the ocean.

lake_erie_fishing

The old bench we sat on had been carved into by previous visitors. Ramsey (his first name was Dave but we all called him by his last) picked up a sharp rock from the ground and started his own markings.

Mer and Ramsey were here. 1994.

We weren’t a couple, just friends. He was a part of the little group of kids that my brother and I hung out with back then. He was a year younger than me.

One of my girlfriends liked him, so I took the matter upon myself to have a chit-chat with him about her interest, since she was shy and always lost the ability to talk when he was around.

“I like her, she’s a sweet girl.”

I nodded vigorously in agreement. “Yes, she really is. Maybe you both could go out on a date sometime.”

He looked out towards the water and didn’t say anything for a minute or two.

“Well, actually..um, I was thinking about asking you out.”

I was caught completely off-guard by the sudden atmospheric change. How did I not know that he was interested in me? Was I that oblivious?

“Oh.”

“Do you want to go see a movie with me Saturday?”

Throwing pebbles at my bedroom window at 2 in the morning to wake me up. Laughing at everything that I said. Telling me that I was pretty and funny.

“Sure. Yeah, we could do that,” I replied, still completely dumbstruck by the turn of events. One minute I was playing matchmaker, the next I was being asked out.

He smiled brightly, obviously pleased with how our chit-chat had turned out.

“Do you want to take a walk on the beach?” he asked, reaching for my hand.

Nodding, I let him.


 

After our movie date and a quick bite to eat, he kissed me in the car. (My car, he didn’t have one.)

The earth did not move. I didn’t hear a symphony. In fact, I was surprisingly grossed out by our lip-lock.

It felt like I was kissing my brother. Ick.

That was our first and last official date. We still saw each other around the neighborhood sometimes but he stopped throwing pebbles to get me to come downstairs to bullshit with him on my front porch steps.

My friend never knew that he and I had gone out on a date, which was just as well. She ended up moving away anyway.

As for Ramsey, the last I heard, he had become a father and had a girlfriend.

His kiss must have made the earth move for her.

