After months of waiting, giving more information and then waiting anxiously some more, I finally got a letter from disability yesterday. They approved me for another three years.

giphy

This is a gigantic weight off of my shoulders. As much as I wish that I could work, I know that there is no way in hell that I could pull it off.

I hurt myself taking a shower, for fuck’s sake.

I get about $500 less than I did while I was working full-time but it’s better than nothing. I am thankful as all get out that they continue to deem me disabled.

I never would have dreamed that this would be the case say ten years ago, but hell, here we are.

Even if I didn’t have chronic pain, I adhere to a strict napping schedule.

15492315_10154920859437287_1498720876052229720_n

My husband and I ventured out into the frigid snowy cold last night to celebrate. We clinked water glasses. He told me something that melted my heart. (He doesn’t like me writing about our personal life.) It was a lovely dinner altogether.

Totally worth my nose hairs freezing.

 

19bqa870k8wb6jpg
Okay, I might be exaggerating a little bit.

 

Then he humored me by going to Pat Catan’s so that I could pick up a few Christmas gifts. They didn’t have any zippy carts so I did the best that I could do on foot before my pain pill wore off. My husband bought me a set of artist grade colored pencils as an early Christmas present. They were a bit pricey but he insisted.

I lingered a bit too long. My husband even warned me to take it easy. My legs were not happy last night.

Well, they are never happy no matter what I do.

If anything, getting approved again for disability just cements the fact that this is my life now.

There is no going back to the way it was before.

