trending

I was sitting here in front of my laptop staring off into space yesterday as my daughter walked by on her way to the kitchen. She’s on break from college until January 18th, which happens to be her 20th birthday.

“You okay?” she asked me.

She doesn’t realize how often I stare blankly at nothing.

“Oh. Yeah, I’m okay. Bored, mostly.”

“Why don’t you write something?”

“I’m on a break.”

“Then stop being on one,” she said simply, then sauntered off to rummage through the fridge.

She made the dean’s list again this semester. 

Sometimes, I have a hard time believing that she came from my loins.


 

I’m keeping a close eye on my big toe. I think it might be fucking infected. I get ingrown nails on both of them (toes) but this time it isn’t healing the way it should. I really don’t want to have to go to the ER for this. I’ve been soaking it, drenching it in peroxide and then applying generic Neosporin to it.

In the grand scheme of things, it isn’t a huge issue. Just another one of those things, you know. A mighty big pain in the ass but nothing that can’t be fixed.

I have to figure out how to put my shoes on so that I can go out to lunch with Cheryl today. Maybe I can just wear a slipper on that foot. I need to get the hell out of this house.


 

Winter sucks big balls.


 

I can’t get the song “Hallelujah” out of my head.

Well I heard there was a secret chord
That David played and it pleased the Lord
But you don’t really care for music, do you?
Well it goes like this: the fourth, the fifth
The minor fall and the major lift
The baffled king composing

Hallelujah


 

This isn’t the most entertaining post, I realize that. But I needed to write something. It truly is a part of what keeps me sane.

Five days away was long enough this time. I don’t think that I’ll be announcing any blogging breaks again, I’ll just sort of disappear for a bit.

I need to get over this crummy mood I’m in and stop whining so that I can enjoy Christmas to the best of my ability.

(With the aid of chemicals, of course.)

