My daughter took me grocery shopping yesterday, because we were at the point where our only food options were green beans and a box of crackers. (I loathe grocery shopping with a passion.) She had some errands to do first. We stopped at her workplace to pick up her check, then the bank.

We both decided that we were hungry. We could have had a decent burger at her place of employment, with a discount and all, but instead we went to McDonald’s. She paid.

I love their fries.

She’s in love with the band Green Day, like I am with The Beatles. One of the funniest things ever to irk her, I also like Green Day. I liked them before she was even born. I remind her of this as often as possible.

She switched CD’s and put in Green Day’s newest album, Revolution Radio. One of the songs was so lovely (Billie Joe has a great voice) that I asked my daughter if we could hear it again.

“I like that song. Rewind it,” I asked her nicely. It’s her car, so hands off her radio, you know.

She started cracking up.

“Rewind it? Mom, it’s not a cassette, it’s a CD. Wait until I tell the people at work what you said!” she replied, shaking her head at yet again one of my many misnomers.

“Sorry, I had a flashback to 1992,” I apologized, laughing with her.

“Obviously.”

Anyways, as much as I know you guys hate musical posts, here is the song that I asked her to “rewind.”

Ordinary World by Green Day 2016

Where can I find the city of shining light
In an ordinary world?
How can I leave a buried treasure behind
In an ordinary world?

The days into years roll by
It’s where that I live until I die
Ordinary world

What would you wish if you saw a shooting star
In an ordinary world?
I’ve walked to the end of the earth and afar
In an ordinary world

Baby, I don’t have much
But what we have is more than enough
Ordinary world

Where can I find the city of shining light?
In an ordinary world
How can I leave a buried treasure behind?
In an ordinary world

Baby, I don’t have much
But what we have is more than enough
Ordinary world

