freedom20hd20wallpaper1

On the 18th of February 2002, I took my 5-year-old daughter and a couple of garbage bags full of our stuff far away from my abusive ex.

We left that fucking monster for good.

We started over basically from scratch.

Makes me that much stronger
Makes me work a little bit harder
It makes me that much wiser
So thanks for making me a fighter
Made me learn a little bit faster
Made my skin a little bit thicker
Makes me that much smarter
So thanks for making me a fighter

CHRISTINA AGUILERA- FIGHTER

With the help of my mom and my aunt, we moved into a small one bedroom apartment. It was my first time ever being alone.

But I wasn’t really alone, I had my young daughter with me.

I don’t need you to worry for me cause I’m alright
I don’t want you to tell me it’s time to come home
I don’t care what you say anymore, this is my life
Go ahead with your own life, leave me alone

BILLY JOEL- MY LIFE

People I didn’t even know gave us furniture, kitchen items, blankets…everything that we needed to start a new life.

We were finally safe and quite happy with our meager possessions.

Let freedom ring, let the white dove sing
Let the whole world know that today is a day of reckoning
Let the weak be strong, let the right be wrong
Roll the stone away, let the guilty pay it’s Independence Day

MARTINA MCBRIDE- Independence Day

I will never forget the date, ever.

Fifteen years free, my friends.

There is nothing better than freedom.

