Up until recently, I didn’t like The Bee Gees all that much because I instantly thought disco music. Although I do enjoy the occasional disco song, sadly the brothers Bee Gee, in my opinion, took a big dump on the genre.

Today’sΒ song was used at the end of The Walking Dead’s fifth-season episode “Forget” and after a quick Google search, I was informed that The Bee Gees had started their career way back in the 60’s.

“Spicks and Specks” ended up being the Bee Gees second album. It was released in Australia in 1966 as “Monday’s Rain,” but because of the success of the aforementioned single, the album was quickly re-released as “Spicks and Specks,” which nudged them on to England in 1967.

The rest is high-pitched history.

If it hadn’t been for my love of zombies, I would have never known that this song even existed.

Yay zombies!!

At first listen, it seems like a jaunty little song, but if you read the lyrics you’ll soon see that it’s pretty fucking deeply profound and shit.

I’m going to change the “girls” to “boys” because the last time that I looked, I’m not a Bee Gee, but most importantly, I don’t have a penis.


 

Spicks and Specks by The Bee Gees Β 1966

Where is the sun
That shone on my head
The sun in my life
It is dead
It is dead
Where is the light
That would play
In my streets
And where are the friends
I could meet
I could meet

Where are the boys
I left far behind
The spicks and the specks
Of the boys on my mind
Where is the sun
That shone on my head
The sun in my life
It is dead
It is dead

Where are the boys
I left far behind
The spicks and the specks
Of the boys on my mind

Where are the boys
I left far behind
The spicks and the specks
Of the boys on my mind

Where is the boy I loved
All along
The boy that I loved
He’s gone
He’s gone

All of my life
I call yesterday
The spicks and the specks
Of my life ‘ve gone away
All of my life
I call yesterday
The spicks and the specks
Of my life ‘ve gone away
Everybody

Spicks and Specks
Spicks and Specks

