Growing up the way I did, I was taught to be a good girl.

Always say please and thank you. Put my napkin in my lap at the dinner table (especially in a nice establishment.) To respect my elders, not to steal, say my prayers before I went to bed, not to be greedy or petty and always do the right thing, lest I be punished by my fathers belt.

It was a good way to be brought up.

I still have most of these qualities now. Sure, I’ve wandered off many times, yet I always find myself back on that good girl trail. It’s who I am at my roots.

There are at least two sides to anything. This includes we humans. We all (except for the few who give no shits) fight so hard to be “good” people to the point where we lose the notion of what would even make us happy anymore, irregardless of what other people would think.

I love chocolate, but I really shouldn’t eat much of it. In my mind, stuffing my face with 6 peanut butter cups would make me feel like a “bad” girl.

The “good” girl me tells that I have no willpower, that I’m a selfish person who deserves to gain weight. I need to repent my evil ways and chow on some grapes instead.

et2
But what if I don’t want to be good, ET?

The “bad” girl tells goody-goody to get bent, because this chocolate tastes a helluva lot better than those boring grapes do.

And so we go on, back and forth, hung up on the choices that we make, especially on whether it affects only ourselves or includes others who get caught in the crossfire.

Can you make a bad decision (that feels really great, by the way) and still be a good person?

That question is up to you to figure out. I’ve got my hands full trying not to throw the grapes down the garbage disposal and then joining the Chocolate of the Month Club.

