I started humming a tune the other day.

“Hmm hmm hmm hmmm hmm hmmm hmm….”

I had no idea what it was that I was humming. But for at least two days, it was stuck in my head.

It started to slowly annoy me and to drive me slightly insane.

I was on Facebook Friday morning when I stumbled upon a song posted by one of my Beatles groups.

The humming and the song matched up instantly.

This hasn’t happened in a while, so it somewhat freaked me out.

But seriously, I was so happy to finally have the name of the song that I’d been humming, I got over the shock quickly.

A collaboration between Sir Paul and Elvis Costello, released on Sir Paul’s album Flowers in the Dirt in 1989, the mystery song is called “My Brave Face.”

I must have heard the song way back then on the radio, dug it, but then forgotten it.

Until a few days ago, looks like.

I have a spooky brain. Ooooo.


 

My Brave Face by Sir Paul with Elvis Costello   1989

My brave, my brave, my brave face

I’ve been living in style,
Unaccustomed as I am
To the luxury life,
I’ve been hitting the town
And it didn’t hit back

I’ve been doing the rounds
Unaccustomed as I am
To the time on my hands,
Now I don’t have to tell anybody
When I’m going to get back

Ever since you went away
I’ve had this sentimental inclination
Not to change a single thing
As I pull the sheet back on the bed,
I want to go bury my head
In your pillow

Now that I’m alone again
I can’t stop breaking down again
The simplest things set me off again
And take me to that place

Where I can’t find my brave face,
Where I can’t find my brave face,
My brave, my brave, my brave face
My brave face

I’ve been living a lie
Unaccustomed as I am
To the work of a housewife,
I’ve been breaking up
Dirty dishes and throwing them away

Ever since you left I have been trying to
Compose a ‘baby will you please come home’ note
Meant for you
As I clear away another
Untouched t.v. dinner
From the table, I laid for two

Now that I’m alone again
I can’t stop breaking down again
The simplest things set me off again
And take me to that place

Where I can’t find my brave face,
Where I can’t find my brave face,
My brave, my brave, my brave face
My brave face

