Spring is nature’s way of saying, ‘Let’s party!’ – Robin Williams

If you live anywhere up north like I do, then you’re familiar with cold and damp days.

It’s the sort of cold that seeps into your bones and makes them feel like icicles. My hands feel frozen. If I could touch you on the bare shoulder, you’d jump 10 feet in the air and scream.

That would be really funny.

I try everything possible to get and stay warm. Sweatshirts, layers, my plush purple bathrobe that I got from my ma for Christmas, topped off with a thick blanket wrapped tightly around me as I walk around the house.

999edf2d1620525f2ef5a017ecd737f1

The plastic on the windows doesn’t help keep the chill away all that much. It feels like my body is a sponge, soaking up the atmosphere. My toes and ankles throb with pain, even though I’m wearing one of my best pair of fuzzy socks.

Today is the first day of Spring.

Well then. Where are the birds? Sunshine? Warm breezes?

I’ll tell you where Spring is. Not in Ohio.

In a couple of months time, I’ll be bitching that I’m too hot, sweating like a barnyard pig, wishing that my 20 year old AC unit still worked. So humid out that my skin sticks to itself, becoming utterly lethargic by noon.

Maybe being cold isn’t as bad as I thought.

