“I’ve never really cared for U2, I don’t like Bono’s voice,” my friend Cheryl said in her car after we had dined at our regular Wednesday lunch spot. We were on our way across the street to the Great Clips so that I could finally get a hair cut.

“Boner?” I said, because I’m me.

“No, Bono,” she replied, playing along with me because she’s her.

“Oh, yeah. Not to be confused with Sonny Bono. I always liked their one song, though. With or Without You, I think it is.”

“That one is okay, I guess.”


 

I’m sitting in the chair, the plastic cape over me, with my eyes closed while the young hairdresser starts cutting the 3 inches of old color from my hair. I hate looking at myself in the mirror. I can’t really see much anyway, since without my glasses the world around me is one giant blur.

The radio is on.

Cheryl is sitting in the waiting area, her eyes glued to Twitter on her smart phone.

(I assume that it was Twitter, as she really loves it.)

“See the stone set in your eyes…..”

“Cheryl?” I call out loudly. No answer.

“I don’t think she heard me,” I say to the hairdresser.

“No, I don’t think she did,” she replies.

“Cheryl? Do you hear what’s on the radio?” I call out again, louder.

“What? Oh yeah.”

“We were just talking about this song in the car,” I explain to the hairdresser.

“Oh, I see.”

I think that it’s groovier than they do. I always get a kick out of it, and I most likely always will.

But I wonder why this weird shit keeps happening to me, especially lately.


 

With or Without You By U2   1987

See the stone set in your eyes
See the thorn twist in your side
I wait for you
Sleight of hand and twist of fate
On a bed of nails she makes me wait
And I wait, without you

With or without you
With or without you

Through the storm we reach the shore
You give it all but I want more
And I’m waiting for you

With or without you
With or without you
I can’t live
With or without you

And you give yourself away
And you give yourself away
And you give
And you give
And you give yourself away

My hands are tied
My body bruised, she’s got me with
Nothing to win and
Nothing left to lose

And you give yourself away
And you give yourself away
And you give
And you give
And you give yourself away

With or without you
With or without you
I can’t live
With or without you
Oh

With or without you
With or without you
I can’t live
With or without you

With or without you

