I think we can all agree that the power of music is universal.

Music brings people together. We celebrate with it. We dance to it (only when I’m drunk), sing to it and cry to it.

I got my own record player as a girl and was given full access to my parents impressively large album collection. I’d carry as many as I could to my room and listen intently, one at a time. When I was finished with those, I’d go back and get some more.

maxresdefault
I couldn’t forget the 45’s, now could I?

I was raised on Rock and Roll. If the radio was on, it was set to the oldies station.

My first very own cassette tape was Micheal Jackson’s “Thriller.” I had an old school cassette player and I carried it with me everywhere that I went. That’s what finally peaked my interest in the music of my era, the 80’s. I received a pink boom box and flew through batteries like crazy, because I rarely turned the thing off.

But after all of these years, I have stayed true to my first love, the music from the 50’s and 60’s.

Ever since I got sick, I find myself listening to music (I adore YouTube) on an almost daily basis. I can get lost in it for 3-4 hours at a time. I’ll start out with Nirvana and end up with The Platters.

I’ll be honest with you guys, I’m always in pain. Music distracts me from it. It’s now an important tool for me and helps me deal with having fibromyalgia.

Music therapy, baby.

old-man-listening-to-music
By the look on this mans face, I betcha he’s listening to The Beatles. Probably Abbey Road.

An old friend of mine told me once that it’s all in the lyrics. If you think about it, the lyrics of a good song are like a poem. I’ve always loved poetry, so much that I even try to write some now and then.

Most of my posts have a song lyric hidden somewhere but usually goes unnoticed. Wah.

You can’t always get what you want.

I’ve recently discovered a bunch of great cover songs, so starting tomorrow I’m going to be posting a cover song a day for the week. I had this idea yesterday after I shared Justin Timberlake’s version of “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay.”

It’s not easy to do an iconic song justice. Hopefully though, you’ll be surprised and perhaps even like the cover versions better than the original.

Or maybe fucking not. Ha!

Have a wonderful Sunday.

What was your first album/8 track/cassette/CD?

