I know what you’re thinking.

Who could possibly sing Roy Orbison’s song “Crying” better than the great man himself?

No, don’t leave. Please? If nothing else, stick around long enough to have a scone, I made them myself. They may or may not have a special ingredient baked inside.

cc_alton-brown-scones-recipe_s4x3-jpg-rend-hgtvcom-1280-960
Choose wisely.

Okay, enough silliness. I promise.

We’ve all experienced, at least once in our lives, seeing someone again that we still love but having no other choice but to hide our true feelings from. (If you haven’t, consider yourself lucky.) Roy Orbison knew how to capture human emotions and turn them into lyrical masterpieces.

K.D. Lang had the privilege of performing a duet of today’s song alongside Roy Orbison before he passed away in 1988 at the young age of 52 from a heart attack.

If you’ve never heard of K.D. Lang, you’re in for a treat. (By the way, one scone per person.)

Her voice is nothing short of phenomenal. If you catch feelings listening to the Orb Man sing “Crying,” then go grab a Kleenex, because K.D.’s cover is rife with grief and woe. It’ll make the hair on your arms and neck stand up. It might even give you goose-pimples.

The first time I heard her version, I seriously did cry. I mean, not full floodgates but my eyes did fill with salty tears that threatened to overflow. (This was just a month or so ago, by the way.)

Yes, I’m like an M&M. I have a hard candy shell on the outside with a smooth chocolate center inside.

Damn, I really do have an issue with chocolate, don’t I?

Anyways, I hope that you enjoy this awesome cover of “Crying.”

Please let me know what you think in the comments.

Crying cover by K.D. Lang Β  Written by Roy Orbison and Joe Melson 1961

I was all right for a while
I could smile for a while
Then I saw you last night
You held my hand so tight
When you stopped to say, “Hello”

Oh, you wished me well
You couldn’t tell
That I’d been crying over you
Crying over you

Then you said, “So long”

Left me standing all alone
Alone and crying, crying
Crying, crying

It’s hard to understand
That the touch of your hand
Can start me crying

I thought that I was over you
But it’s true, so true
I love you even more
Than I did before

But, darling, what can I do?
No you don’t love me
And I’ll always be crying over you
Crying over you

Now you’re gone
And from this moment on
I’ll be crying, crying
Crying, crying
Yeah, crying, crying
Over you

