I wonder if Dusty Springfield knew how to headbang?

“I Only Want To Be With You” was British singer Dusty Springfield’s debut hit single, released in November of 1963. Dusty Springfield was the second British Invasion act, following the Beatles, to have a US hit song.

This makes Dusty fab.

I knew the lyrics to this song before I was 5. (I’m guessing.) There were so many Dusty Springfield albums and 45’s in my parents closet-o-music, it didn’t take me long to find this catchy tune and learn to love her.

5213938027_686ed06d6a
Headbang with this hair? You cray, Mer.

Although there have been other covers of this song, nothing is more bizarre (and wicked cool) as Danish heavy mental band Volbeat’s 2005 version. Inspired by classic rock and roll, as well as modern hard rock, heavy metal and hardcore punk, Volbeat gives this sugary sweet pop song a kick right in the oldie but goody ass.

For those of you who don’t know how to headbang, here’s a quick tutorial.

how_to_headbang__a_handy_guide_by_princessofinsufficie

In case of accidental injury brought on by headbanging, please go to your nearest emergency room (but leave my name out of it.)

What’s that, Volbeat? You have something to say?

e99f9fa2d28c5926b1d3d953d88c7479
We fucking love you, Dusty!

Aw, isn’t that sweet? I’m sure that she loved you guys as well. (Although I can’t find any facts on that for sure, so I’m only guessing. )

I hope that you enjoy today’s um…energetic cover of “I Only Want To Be With You” as much as I enjoyed discovering it.

Please let me know what you think in the comments.

You know, after you recover.

I Only Want To Be With You Cover by Volbeat    

Original Version by Dusty Springfield 1963 

Written by Mike Hawker and Ivor Raymonde

I don’t know what it is that makes me love you so
I only know I never want to let you go
Cause you started something
Oh can’t you see
And ever since we met you’ve had a hold on me
It happens to be true
I only wanna be with you

It doesn’t really matter what you say or do
I want to spend each moment and each day with you
Look what has happened with just one kiss
I never knew that I could be in love like this
It’s crazy but it’s true
I only wanna be with you

I don’t know what it is that makes me love you so
I only know I never want to let you go
Cause you started something
Oh can’t you see
And ever since we met you’ve had a hold on me
It happens to be true
I only wanna be with you

You stopped and smiled at me
And asked me if I cared to dance
I fell into your open arms
And I didn’t stand a chance

Now listen honey
I just want to be beside you everywhere
As long as we’re together honey I don’t care
Cause you started something
Oh can’t you see
Ever since we met you’ve had a hold on me
It happens to be true
I only wanna be with you
No matter what you do
I only wanna be with you

 

