I was laying on the couch watching T.V. when my mom came over and put a piece of paper with a name and phone number on the coffee table.

It was the digits to a guy she worked with who was my age. We were both 20.

She was playing matchmaker, tired of the scummy dudes that I was always dating. (She was right, they were all douches.) This boy was a good boy, a hard worker with a good head on his shoulders. We’d be perfect for each other.

And for a while, it seemed like we were.

We didn’t just hang out together, we went on actual dates. He bought me gifts for holidays. He opened doors for me. He was polite. He was shy to kiss me first, so I had to make the first move.

On our 4th date.

I woke up one morning and realized that I was in love for the first time in my life. I drove to the lake on that cold winter day, watching the foamy waves, enjoying the frigid spray on my face.

Holy shit, I was in love.

Alive. 

I floated like a feather in a beautiful world. (Thank you, Radiohead.)

rs-15189-20140502-radiohead-x1800-1399055725
Thanks for quoting our song, Mer.
He said it to me a week later.

We were both in love with each other. There’s nothing better than a steady rush of dopamine. I was flooded with the stuff. 

The months rolled by and he started to slowly pull away. Something was wrong. I drove myself crazy with it.

What did I do? How could I fix it? Why was he acting so cold all of a sudden?

He stopped calling. He just went poof, gone from my life, just like that. (My mom had gotten a new job, so he was safe from her wrath.)

No explanation. No goodbye. No closure. 

I listened to every song I knew that dealt with a broken heart. This was one of them. I played my cassette tape of it over and over again.

Damn, it still takes me back. Even more than 20 years later, it gives me a bad case of the sads and makes me want to take a nostalgic drive to the lake.

I love Kelly Clarkson’s cover of this classic Bonnie Raitt song. Plenty of emotion that makes you want to eat a roll of raw chocolate chip cookie dough while taking a long bubble bath.

I hope that you enjoy this cover. Please let me know what you think in the comments.

I Can’t Make You Love Me Cover by Kelly Clarkson 2011

Original Version by Bonnie Raitt 1991

Written by Allen Shamblin and Michael Reid

Turn down the lights
Turn down the bed
Turn down these voices inside my head
Lay down with me
Tell me no lies
Just hold me close, don’t patronize
Don’t patronize me

‘Cause I can’t make you love me if you don’t
You can’t make your heart feel something it won’t
Here in the dark, in these final hours
I will lay down my heart and I’ll feel the power
But you won’t, no you won’t
‘Cause I can’t make you love me, if you don’t

I’ll close my eyes, then I won’t see
The love you don’t feel when you’re holding me
Morning will come and I’ll do what’s right
Just give me till then to give up this fight
And I will give up this fight

‘Cause I can’t make you love me if you don’t
You can’t make your heart feel something it won’t
Here in the dark, in these final hours
I will lay down my heart and I’ll feel the power
But you won’t, no you won’t
‘Cause I can’t make you love me, if you don’t

