I saved my favorite cover song for last.

I’m sure that almost everyone knows the original version of “Heart of Gold” by Canadian singer-songwriter Neil Young. From the 1972 album “Harvest,” it became his one and only #1 hit on the U.S charts. I think that we can all relate to the lyrics (although I’ve never been to Hollywood or Redwood.)

It’s been covered so many times, but the version byย Michael David Rosenberg, who goes by his stage name Passenger, is the best one that I’ve ever heard. Passenger is an English singer-songwriter and folk rock musician. Heย decided to keep his old band’s name for himself after they broke up in 2009.

I was first introduced to his music a few years ago by an old blog friend who is now long gone. Passenger’s most well known song is called “Let Her Go.” Some people don’t care for his voice, but I love it. I find it soothing.

He gives me hope for the future of music.

If you’re a dog lover like myself, you’ll really enjoy this video. I’m lucky enough to have two hearts of gold under my roof. That’s all that I’ll say, I don’t want to spoil it.

I’d like to thank all of you for joining me this week. I had a blast and I hope that you’ve also enjoyed yourself. Even if you didn’t care for the song or the cover version, like my good friend Jackie commented yesterday, at least she learned some new stuff.

Please let me know what you think of this cover down below.

“Heart of Gold” Cover by Passenger 2017

Also Starring Pepper the Dogย 

Original Version Performed and Written by Neil Young 1972

I want to live,
I want to give
I’ve been a miner for a heart of gold.
It’s these expressions
I never give
That keep me searching for a heart of gold.

And I’m getting old.
Keep me searching for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old.

I’ve been to Hollywood
I’ve been to Redwood
I crossed the ocean for a heart of gold.
I’ve been in my mind,
It’s such a fine line
That keeps me searching for a heart of gold.

And I’m getting old.
Keeps me searching for a heart of gold
And I’m getting old.

Keep me searching for a heart of gold.
You keep me searching and I’m growing old.
Keep me searching for a heart of gold
I’ve been a miner for a heart of gold.

