Originally recorded by Little Anthony & The Imperials in 1965, this dramatic ballad has become one of The Imperials’ best-known songs. Linda Ronstadt gave herself a hernia hitting those high notes with her own cover version of “Hurts So Bad” in 1980.

Linda Ronstadt was like the queen of cover songs back in her heyday, most notably “That’ll Be The Day” by Buddy Holly and “When Will I Be Loved” by the Brothers Everly.

Although I love the original version of this song (Little Anthony sounds really heartbroken and butthurt) I still think that LR gives it a decent remake.

In fact, it’s the most successful version ever recorded.

So remember, if it hurts so bad, self-medicate, put some fucking ice on it and stop being a baby.

 


“Hurts So Bad” by Linda Ronstadt  1980

Original version by Little Anthony and The Imperials  1965

Written by three dudes, Teddy Randazzo, Bobby Wilding and Bobby Hart

I know you
Don’t know what I’m going through
Standing here looking at you

Well let me tell you that it hurts so bad
It makes me feel so sad
It makes me hurt so bad to see you again

Like needles and pins
People say “you’ve been making out okay
He’s in love don’t stand in his way”

Well let me tell you that it hurts so bad
It makes me feel so sad
It’s gonna hurt so bad if you walk away

Why don’t you stay and let me make it up to you
I’ll do anything you want me to
You loved me before please love me again
I can’t let you go back to her
Please don’t go
Please don’t go

Please don’t go
Please don’t go
Hurt so bad
Come back it hurts so bad
Don’t make it hurt so bad
I’m begging you please

Oooooh oh oh oh
Come back it hurts so bad
Come back it hurts so bad
I’m begging you please
Oh! No!
Noooooo!

