I listen to music almost everyday. This song popped up first on my playlist this morning and since I am actually planning on taking up the monumental task of really cleaning my kitchen floor, I figured it’s a perfect day to just throw a random song here for your listening pleasure.

I’ve loved Tracy Chapman ever since the 80’s when she came on the scene with “Fast Car” in 1988. I was a freshman in high school, holy shitballs.

This tune was released in 1995. I remember blasting it in my car, singing along with it. Her voice is bluesy and unique, I think. No auto-tune for her.

Yes, I was alone in the car. My singing sucks big time. Not one of my talents.

Wish me luck that I don’t injure myself too badly giving my filthy kitchen floor a real deep clean today. I can’t put it off any longer.

Afterwards, I might have a margarita to celebrate. It’s 5 o’clock somewhere and I’ve been a good girl lately.



Give Me One Reason by Tracy Chapman … 1995

Give me one reason to stay here
And I’ll turn right back around
Give me one reason to stay here
And I’ll turn right back around
Said I don’t want leave you lonely
You got to make me change my mind

Baby I got your number and I know that you got mine
But you know that I called you, I called too many times
You can call me baby, you can call me anytime
You got to call me

Give me one reason to stay here
And I’ll turn right back around
Give me one reason to stay here
And I’ll turn right back around
Because I don’t want leave you lonely
You got to make me change my mind

I don’t want no one to squeeze me, they might take away my life
I don’t want no one to squeeze me, they might take away my life
I just want someone to hold me and rock me through the night

This youthful heart can love you and give you what you need
This youthful heart can love you and give you what you need
But I’m too old to go chasing you around
Wasting my precious energy

Give me one reason to stay here
And I’ll turn right back around
Give me one reason to stay here
And I’ll turn right back around
Because I don’t want leave you lonely
You got to make me change my mind

Baby just give me one reason, give me just one reason why
Baby just give me one reason, give me just one reason why I should stay
Said I told you that I loved you
And there ain’t no more to say

