Search

Knocked Over By A Feather

But It Didn't Keep Me Down…

The Fog of Fibromyalgia

Fibrofog

Sounds fun doesn’t it? This is a symptom that accompanies Fibromyalgia Syndrome. These episodes of fog may or may not occur with a fibro flare. If you are diagnosed with fibromyalgia you most likely will periodically experience fibro fog. I have my theory as to why we experience these fogs, but it is only a theory. Chemical imbalance? Dopamine receptors malfunctioning? Too many stimuli? Too much pain… whatever the case, check out time! You find yourself in a fog. It is frustrating because you are aware you are experiencing cognitive difficulties! A fibro fog does not increase the ever-present fibromyalgia pain but it does make managing your pain more difficult.

You search for words, you search for familiar tasks, you search your memory, in and of itself! Many people think you are drunk or on some serious illegal drugs. Walking can become a challenge, dressing looks like a clown show, trying to complete a task or follow a schedule is almost impossible. Retaining any information is a joke and attempting to remember information is not achievable in this state of fibro fog. I can watch a movie while I am experiencing fibro fog and honestly not remember one single thing that happened. I do not even remember I watched the movie!

I really believe once everything gets to be “too” much; pain, stress, lights, smells, etc. Your brain simply goes into a fog to attempt to alleviate the overwhelmed state you are in. I would go so far as to say fibro fog can be a fibromyalgia sufferer’s best friend but the scrutiny of those around you can make it a wicked, whiplash situation.

“Have you been drinking?”

“What are you on?”

“Do you remember what you said to me?”

“What the hell is wrong with you?”

Fibro fog. Fibro fog. Fibro fog.

Trying to be social while experiencing a fog is not advisable. Going out in public should be avoided. Never drive! Don’t call, don’t text, don’t write, unless you like a wicked whiplash coming at you once the fog has cleared. The fog will pass! The repercussions may not.

Protect yourself when you are having cognitive difficulties. Get through the episode and then move on. If during the fog you crossed paths with someone who doesn’t understand the state you were in, let it go. It’s not like you could explain it to them while you were experiencing the fog, your words have left you. They will either believe you or they won’t.

I have a little card I printed out and I keep it next to my phone for just such uncomfortable occasions. I’m still experiencing some backlash because I did not know how to explain my fibro fog episodes. In the beginning, I did not even know what they were? Now I am prepared and I want you to be prepared as well. Prepare!

F.Fog2

Live your best life!

IMG_1725~Kim

Learn more about a fibromyalgia toolbox. (Pick Your Box)

Visit me at https://www.itrippedoverastone.com

 

6 thoughts on “The Fog of Fibromyalgia

  1. Mer, I’m blaming this one on the fibro fog… I can’t set dates for publishing from the dashboard… MENTAL NOTE. Lord have mercy! I have to go through the ‘publisher’. Doubled up on you again, damn.~Kim

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fog everywhere. Fog up the river, where it flows among green aits and meadows; fog down the river, where it rolls defiled among the tiers of shipping and the waterside pollutions of a great (and dirty) city. Fog on the Essex marshes, fog on the Kentish heights. Fog creeping into the cabooses of collier-brigs; fog lying out on the yards, and hovering in the rigging of great ships; fog drooping on the gunwales of barges and small boats. Fog in the eyes and throats of ancient Greenwich pensioners, wheezing by the firesides of their wards; fog in the stem and bowl of the afternoon pipe of the wrathful skipper, down in his close cabin; fog cruelly pinching the toes and fingers of his shivering little ’prentice boy on deck. Chance people on the bridges peeping over the parapets into a nether sky of fog, with fog all round them, as if they were up in a balloon, and hanging in the misty clouds.
    Charles Dickens, Bleak House

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know what fibro fog is like, but I know I’ve had similar symptoms to what you’ve described with depression and anxiety. I am learning to be kinder to myself during these times, and to yes, definitely not try anything remotely complicated, like posting something. Whoops.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Fibro fog is a form of brain fog which is closely associated with many illness, depression, and anxiety? Very much so!!! I know you have had these episodes. They aren’t fun and posting is … ‘dangerous’! You are living on the edge Alice, good for you! Thanks for the comments.~Kim

      Like

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

